The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

Enhancing the quality of our communities through regional cooperation
Regional Images

Browse our programs. Click on a title to expand.

Transportation Information and Documents

Regional Transportation Plan

MoDOT SW District FY17 Intersection Cost Share Overview

MoDOT SW District FY17 Intersection Cost Share Application

Each year the SMCOG Transportation Advisory Committee prioritizes local transportation needs within the SMCOG region. Below is the list of 2016 County Meetings that took place for the Transportation Needs Prioritization Process:

  • Barry County - Monday, October 31, 9:00 am
  • Dade County - Monday, October 31, 11:00 am
  • Dallas County - Tuesday, November 1, 10:30 am
  • Greene County - Tuesday, November 1, 1:00 pm
  • Christian County - Thursday, November 10, 1:30 pm
  • Stone County - Thursday, November 10, 10:00 am
  • Polk County - Monday, November 14, 11:00 am
  • Taney County - Monday, November 14, 1:00 pm
  • Webster County - Tuesday, November 15, 3:30 pm

Road, bridge, bicycle and pedestrian regional needs are then prioritized with other area regional planning commissions into the MoDOT southwest district regional needs list. Those can be found below:

2016-2017 MoDOT Southwest District road and bridge priorities
2016-2017 MoDOT Southwest District bicycle and pedestrian priorities

Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC)
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
Select a year to see minutes and agendas
Additional Transportation Links

The Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient, Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), was passed by Congress in August, 2005, reauthorizing the Surface Transportation Act. As part of this reauthorization, grantees applying for funds under the New Freedom Initiative (5317), Job Access and Reverse Commute (JARC-5316) and Elderly and Disabled Transportation Program (5310) must meet certain planning requirements starting in FY2007 and continuing indefinitely.

SAFETEA-LU specifically requires projects for the three above programs to be part of a public transit plan that is both locally developed and coordinated. The development of this plan must include representatives of transportation and human services transportation providers, whether they are public, private, or non-profit providers.

The process is designed to identify the needs of three targeted groups: Individuals with disabilities, older adults, and people with low incomes. These targeted groups should not only be the focus when discussing needs, but they should be included in the public participation process. The development of this plan should also identify strategies to meet local needs, and prioritize the strategies for funding, time and feasibility constraints. Additionally, the plan should maximize the effectiveness of coverage by minimizing overlaps in services, while addressing gaps in current service.

For more information about the plan's requirements, see: Workshop on Public Transit

The current Transit Coordination Plan can be seen here: 2013 SMCOG Transit Coordination Plan

Human Service Agency Survey
(does not provide trans for clients)
Serv Agency PDF
(does not provide trans for clients)
Transportation Provider Survey
(includes HSA that provides trans)
Trans Prov PDF
(includes HSA that provides trans)
Citizen Transportation User Survey
(senior, disabled, or low-income)
Citizen User PDF
(senior, disabled, or low-income)

Public Meeting Dates
  • Barry County
    Cassville City Hall; Monday, February 27, 9am - 11am
    300 Main St, Cassville, MO 65625

  • Lawrence County
    Monett Justice Center; Monday, February 27, 2pm - 4pm
    1501 E Cleveland Ave, Monett, MO 65708

  • Taney County
    Forsyth City Hall; Tuesday, February 28, 1pm - 3pm
    15405 US Hwy 160, Forsyth, MO 65653

  • Christian County
    Highlandville City Hall; Wednesday, March 1, 9am - 11am
    216 Kentling Ave, Highlandville, MO 65669

  • Stone County
    Kimberling City Community Center; Wednesday, March 1, 2pm - 4pm
    34 Kimberling Blvd, Kimberling City, MO 65686

  • Dade County
    Greenfield City Hall; Thursday, March 2, 1pm - 3pm
    115 S Maint St, Greenfield, MO 65661

  • Greene County
    Fair Grove City Hall; Friday, March 3, 9am - 11am
    81 S Orchard Blvd, Fair Grove, MO 65648

  • Polk County
    Bolivar City Hall; Monday, March 6, 9am - 11am
    345 S Main Ave, Bolivar, MO 65613

  • Webster County
    Marshfield Catholic Church; Monday, March 6, 9am - 11am
    515 W Washington St, Marshfield, MO 65706

  • Dallas County
    Engels Memorial Senior Center; Wedmesday, March 8, 9am - 11am
    103 S Maple St, Buffalo, MO 65622

  • Dennis Wood, Chair
  • Todd Wiesehan, Vice-Chair
Name Affiliation County
Dayton Mackey Citizen Barry
Cherry Warren County Commissioner Barry
Todd Wiesehan County Government Christian
Mike Younker City Government Christian
Bob Jackson Citizen Dade
Randy Daniel County Commissioner Dade
Kenneth Bacon Citizen Dallas
Roger Bradley County Commissioner Dallas
J. Howard Fisk Citizen Greene
Joel Keller County Government Greene
Max Springer City Government Lawrence
Mike Randall City Government Lawrence
Sydney Allen City Government Polk
Rick Davis Citizen Polk
Dennis Wood Presiding Commissioner Stone
Collin Brannan City Government Stone
David Miller County Government Taney
Buddy Roberts Citizen Taney
Harlin Hill Citizen Webster
Robert Williams City Government Webster

Southwest Missouri Council of Governments | 901 South National Avenue | Springfield, MO 65897
Phone: (417) 836-6900 | Fax: (417) 836-4146 | Email: SMCOG