The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

Enhancing the quality of our communities through regional cooperation
Regional Images

Browse our programs. Click on a title to expand.

SMCOG offers many services to our members, below is a brief list. You can also view our brochure with more detailed information about our services.

  • Comprehensive Planning
  • Zoning and Subdivision Regulation and Information
  • Transportation Planning
  • Specialized Planning Studies and Consulting Services
  • Economic Development Planning
  • Funding Searches
  • Grant Writing and Grant Administration
  • Census Data Center
  • Data Gathering and Specialized Research, Planning Library
  • Workshops and Seminars
  • Planning and Zoning Commissioners Seminars
  • Mapping Services
  • Community Surveys
  • Hazard Mitigation

In 2006, the signing of Missouri executive order 06-09 formed nine Regional Homeland Security Oversight Committees (RHSOC) throughout Missouri, based upon the existing nine State Highway Patrol troop areas. Missouri's Homeland Security Regionalization Program focuses on establishing a common sense, logical governance structure and process to facilitate local, community level engagement in not only grant funding priorities and strategies, but other homeland security related decisions. Core disciplines at the county/local level have been identified as voting participants in these regional committees. While only one individual from each discipline in a specific region holds a voting seat on the committee, it is mandated that they represent all segments of their core discipline members in their region, including both county and local interests. They accomplish this through working groups within each discipline that are all inclusive of their specific discipline in their geographic region. The RHSOCs meet quarterly, with additional meetings called as needed to deal with specific issues.

The lead regional planning commission (RPC) serves as the primary administrative agent for the committees and as well as the fiscal agent for the administration of the grant programs. The RPCs assist in organizational coordination and funding administration duties. The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments is the lead RPC for Region D, with assistance from Harry S. Truman Coordinating Council and the Kaysinger Basin Regional Planning Commission. Region D includes Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, and Webster counties.

Visit the Region D RHSOC website for further information about the program, resources, and other funding and training opportunities.

Planning is a rational way of preparing for the future. The comprehensive or general plans of local governments are goal driven documents that represent a vision and a guide for desirable future physical development and attempt to reconcile the relationships between physical development and the social and economic goals of the community.

The plan is a comprehensive inventory of elements and resources that affect community development. Typical plan elements include; demographics and population projections, land-use, transportation, community facilities, natural and cultural resources, housing and economic development. Information from these elements is used to develop alternatives and strategies for arriving at the communities preferred future development goals.

SMCOG has prepared numerous plans for communities in southwest Missouri. Currently, staff are working with the planning and zoning commission in Rockaway Beach to develop their first comprehensive plan.
Rockaway Beach, MO

Southwest Missouri Council of Governments | 901 South National Avenue | Springfield, MO 65897
Phone: (417) 836-6900 | Fax: (417) 836-4146 | Email: SMCOG