SMCOG logo

Hazard Mitigation

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) defines hazard mitigation as “Any sustained action taken to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from hazards.” It has been demonstrated that hazard mitigation is most effective when based on an inclusive, comprehensive, long-term plan that is developed before a disaster occurs.

The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000), for the first time, required state and local governments to prepare and adopt hazard mitigation plans approved by FEMA as a condition of eligibility for receiving hazard mitigation grants under several programs. The State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) relies on a partnership with regional planning commissions throughout the state to help local jurisdictions develop and adopt countywide, multi-jurisdictional, multi-hazard mitigation plans.

In 2004 and 2005, SMCOG assisted many counties in the region with developing their first mitigation plans. DMA 2000 also requires that these plans be updated every five years in order for state and local jurisdictions to maintain eligibility for Hazard Mitigation Assistance. The update process is currently underway at the county level for many communities in the region. Below is a summary of each jurisdictions hazard mitigation plan update status and a link to that community's plan update page on the SMCOG website.

Barry County Update Under Review (SEMA)
Christian County Update Under Review (SEMA)
Dade County NHMP First plan in Development
Dallas County Update In Development
Lawrence County Update In Development
Polk County Update In Development
Taney County Update In Development
Webster County Update Under Review (FEMA)
Southwest Missouri Council of Governments
901 South National Avenue
Springfield, MO 65897
Phone (417) 836-6900
Fax (417) 836-4146
Email: Diane May
CRPM logo
MACOG Information Network
Missouri State University