The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

Enhancing the quality of our communities through regional cooperation
Regional Images

Click on a title to expand.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) defines hazard mitigation as "Any sustained action taken to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from hazards." It has been demonstrated that hazard mitigation is most effective when based on an inclusive, comprehensive, long-term plan that is developed before a disaster occurs.

The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000), for the first time, required state and local governments to prepare and adopt hazard mitigation plans approved by FEMA as a condition of eligibility for receiving hazard mitigation grants under several programs. The State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) relies on a partnership with regional planning commissions throughout the state to help local jurisdictions develop and adopt countywide, multi-jurisdictional, multi-hazard mitigation plans.

In 2004 and 2005, SMCOG assisted many counties in the region with developing their first mitigation plans. DMA 2000 also requires that these plans be updated every five years in order for state and local jurisdictions to maintain eligibility for Hazard Mitigation Assistance. The update process is currently underway at the county level for many communities in the region. Below is a summary of each jurisdictions hazard mitigation plan update status and a link to that community's plan update page on the SMCOG website.

Select a plan to view details

  • Barry County Plan
  • Christian County Plan
  • Dade County Plan
  • Dallas County Plan
  • Lawrence County Plan
  • Polk County Plan
  • Stone County Plan
  • Taney County Plan
  • Webster County Plan

In 2010, the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives elected to create a statewide plan for all rural electric cooperatives (RECs). As a statewide plan, certain elements have been standardized, but each individual REC worked with the local regional planning commission to create their own mitigation strategies. With their participation, each REC is eligible to apply for HMGP funding towards potential mitigation projects. The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments worked with the Ozark, Barry, Southwest and Webster Rural Electric Cooperatives towards this goal through developing local mitigation plans for each REC. Copies of the REC NHMP local chapters may be secured by request to Dave Faucett at the Southwest Missouri Council of Governments ( or call 417 836-6901.

Southwest Missouri Council of Governments | 901 South National Avenue | Springfield, MO 65897
Phone: (417) 836-6900 | Fax: (417) 836-4146 | Email: SMCOG